DUI & DWI in Tennessee
If you are convicted of drunk driving in Tennessee, you will have to pick up trash along the highway for 3 eight-hour shifts - while wearing a blaze orange vest with the words "I AM A DRUNK DRIVER".
If you or a loved one has been arrested for DUI in Tennessee, you need legal help - and you need it fast. The Tennessee DUI attorney of your choice will help you to build the strongest defense possible.This article will help you to understand what you're facing:
- Tennessee DUI Laws
- Tennessee DUI Punishments
- Potential DUI Defenses
- Tennessee's Other Drunk Driving and Alcohol Laws
- How to Find a Tennessee DUI Attorney
When is a Driver Considered to be Legally Drunk in Tennessee?
You are legally too drunk to drive in the state of Tennessee if you're a:
- Driver and your BAC is .08 or higher.
- Commercial driver and your BAC is .04 or higher.
- Under21 driver and your BAC is .02 or higher.
What is Tennessee's Punishment for DUI Convictions?
These are the "normal" DWI penalties:
- 1st offense - between 24 hours to 11 months and 29 days of jail or workhouse-24 hours of litter pick up while wearing an orange "I AM A DRUNK DRIVER" vest - fines of $350 to $1,500 - driver's license suspension for 1 year.
- 2nd offense within 10 years - jail or workhouse time of 45 days to 11 months 29 days- fines of $600 to $3,500 - driver's license revocation for 2 years - ignition interlock - alcohol treatment program.
- 3rd offense within 10 years - jail or workhouse time of 120 days to 11 months 29 days- fines of $1,100 to $10,000- driver's license revoked for 10 years - ignition interlock.
In addition, enhanced penalties apply to commercial drivers, drivers with a BAC of .20 or more, and drunk drivers with a child, under the age of 18, in the car.
Tennessee Drunk Driving Defenses
Consult with the Tennessee DUI lawyer of your choice - www.attorneys.org.Perhaps one of these defenses applies to your case.
- Important evidence that should have been admitted in court wasn't admitted.
- Statements you made without Miranda warnings were admitted into evidence at trial.
- The trial judge gave the wrong jury instructions.
- The roadblock, during which you were arrested, was not proper.
- There was no probable cause to stop and test your BAC.
- There were mistakes made in BAC testing.
Tennessee's Other Drunk Driving and Alcohol Laws
Dram Shop Statute
A licensed drinking establishment may be held liable for injuries caused by the serving of a minor or a visibly intoxicated person.
Tennessee's Providing Alcohol to Underage Persons Law
It is a crime to furnish alcohol to an individual under the age of 21. Penalties include jail up to 11 months and 29 days in prison, a fine of up to $2,500, and 100 hours of community service.
How to Find a Tennessee DUI Attorney
To find a Tennessee DUI attorney, you can search our website, www.attorneys.org, or ask friends or the bar association for a referral. In some cases (but not all) charges are dismissed; in others,the minimum penalties are handed down. We suggest you get legal help immediately.
Local DUI Attorneys
- Johnson City
- Oak Ridge
- Spring Hill