Personal Injury Law in Massachusetts
We'll be blunt. If you or a loved one has been seriously injured in a Massachusetts accident or through a bad act, you should absolutely not try to handle the case yourself. "Why?" you may ask. This is why:
- The insurance company will try to make you settle for less than you deserve.
- The legal system is complicated, with pitfalls at every turn.
- The person (or company) that hurt you will have a lawyer.
- The legal, insurance, and medical paperwork is a big hassle.
If you or a loved one has been injured in the state of Massachusetts, this article is meant for you. We'll discuss:
- The kinds of cases that Massachusetts personal injury lawyers handle.
- What you need to prove in a personal injury case.
- Why you should call a lawyer immediately.
- How to find a Massachusetts personal injury attorney.
Would a Massachusetts Personal Injury Attorney Handle My Case?
Bottom line: If you were seriously injured in the state of Washington, a Washington attorney would likely handle your type of case.
If you don't see your individual situation listed above, contact a personal injury firm and ask. The consultation is free. You can check out PI attorney websites through our site, www.attorneys.org.
- Car, motorcycle, truck, ATV, RV, bicycle, cruise ship, boat, ferry, golf cart, and pedestrian.
- Hair dryers, vacuum cleaners, saws, cars, tools, appliances, power tools, machines, medications, kitchen tools, equipment, and chemicals.
- Birth injuries, wrongful death, adverse medication reactions, surgical errors, and misdiagnosis, delayed diagnosis, failure to treat.
- Injured workers may need assistance getting their workers compensation benefits or filing a lawsuit if injured by a defective or mislabeled product.
- Slip and falls injuries, dog bites, food-borne illnesses, birth injuries, brain injuries, broken bones, nursing home abuse injuries, burns, bruises, Mesothelioma (i.e. cancer), adverse drug reactions, scars, fractures, lacerations, and wrongful death.
How Do I Prove My Massachusetts Personal Injury Case?
Personal injury cases are usually based upon a negligence theory of liability. This means that you must prove negligence by a preponderance of the evidence.
There are 3 elements of proof in a negligence case:
- #1 The defendant had a duty to you and failed in that duty.
- #2 The duty failure caused you injury.
- #3 The injury caused you legal damages.
Why Should I Call a Personal Injury Lawyer Immediately?
- To get a lawyer, investigators, and medical experts on your side immediately.
- To have experts preserve valuable evidence.
- To avoid being taken advantage of my insurance companies.
To meet the statute of limitations to pass in your case.
Here are some example Massachusetts statute of limitations for personal injury cases:
- Medical Malpractice is 3 years (Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 260, В§ 4).
- Personal Injury is 3 years (Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 260, В§ 2A).
- Wrongful Death is 3 years (Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 229, В§ 2).
- Property Damage is3 years (Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 260, В§ 2A or Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 260, В§ 4).
How Do I Find a Massachusetts Personal Injury Attorney?
To find a Massachusetts personal injury lawyer, search our site, www.attorneys.org, or ask the bar association or a loved one for a referral.
Local Personal Injury Attorneys
- East Longmeadow
- Fall River
- Great Barrington
- Harwich Port