DUI & DWI in Maryland
If you drive with a blood alcohol content of .08 in Maryland, or in any other state in the U.S., you're guilty of the crime of drunk driving. Any time you're arrested for anything, the potential consequences are incredibly serious and you need to consult with a Maryland criminal defense attorney.
A drunk driving arrest may be common, but it's also very serious. If you're arrested for DUI, you need to consult with a Maryland DUI attorney. Think about the consequences: job loss, potential bankruptcy, jail, stiff fines, loss of reputation, driver's license suspension, family discord, stress, ignition interlock and the like.
We encourage you to consult with a qualified MD DUI lawyer immediately (www.attorneys.org) and check out this article that was written for people arrested for drunk driving in Maryland.
This article summarizes:
- Maryland DWI Laws
- Maryland DWI Punishments
- Potential DUI Defenses
- Maryland's Other Drunk Driving and Alcohol Laws
- How to Find a Maryland DWI Attorney
When is a Driver Considered to be Legally Drunk in Maryland?
The Maryland Code contain Maryland's drunk driving laws. We'll summarize the blood alcohol content (BAC) rules here.
In the state of Maryland,you're breaking the law if you're a:
- Driver and your BAC is .08 or higher.
- Commercial driver or a school bus driver and your BAC is .04 or higher.
- Under age 21 driver and your BAC is .02 or higher.
What is Maryland's Punishment for DUI Convictions?
- 1st Offense - up to 1 year of jail time - fines of up to $1,000- driver's license suspension for 45 or 90 days, depending on BAC -- loss of commercial driver's license - ignition interlock for up to 3 years.
- 2nd Offense within 5 Years - jail time of up to 2 years - fines of up to $2,000 - driver's license suspension for 90 days or 180 days, depending on BAC - loss of commercial driver's license - ignition interlock for 3 years.
- 3rd Offense within 5 years - jail time of up to3 years - fines of up to $3,000 - driver's license revoked for at least 5 years - loss of commercial driver's license - ignition interlock for 3 years.
Maryland Drunk Driving Defenses
As soon as you hire a DUI defense firm, your attorney will start collecting and analyzing evidence, doing legal research, and determining your strongest defense.
This list illustrates potential DUI defenses:
- Evidence included at trial that was illegally obtained.
- Evidence inappropriately excluded at trial.
- Jury instruction error at trial.
- The roadblock of original stop was not proper.
- There was no probable cause to stop you and test BAC.
- BAC testing error.
- Improper procedure during arrest or detainment.
- BAC improperly calculated.
- Protocol not followed when blood was drawn for BAC.
- Protocol not followed when blood was analyzed for BAC.
- Mistake in reporting BAC.
Maryland's Other Drunk Driving and Alcohol Laws
Dram Shop Statute
Maryland doesn't have a Dram Shop Act.
Maryland's Providing Alcohol to Underage Persons Law
It is a crime to sell alcohol to an underage person;the penalty is up to 2 years in jail and a $1,000 fine.
Criminal Penalties for Serving Visibly Intoxicated Persons
In some Maryland counties, it's a crime to sell alcohol to a visibly intoxicated person.
How to Find a Maryland DUI Attorney
To find a Maryland DUI attorney, you can search our website, www.attorneys.org, or ask friends or the bar association for a referral. You'll get the legal help you need.
Local DUI Attorneys
- Bel Air
- College Park
- Ellicott City
- Fort Washington
- Glen Burnie
- Hunt Valley
- La Plata
- Ocean City
- Ocean Pines
- Owings Mills
- Prince Frederick