Personal Injury Law in Florida
Florida may be the sunshine state, but if you or a loved one has been injured in an accident, it likely doesn't feel like the sun is shining - or perhaps, it feels as though the sun is shining so brightly you're blinded.
You may be thinking:
- What do I do next?
- Should I go to the doctor?
- Can I see a physical therapist?
- Should I talk to the insurance company?
- How will I pay my bills?
- Should I sue?
- Should I settle?
- Do I need an attorney?
- Where can I find a good personal injury lawyer?
- How much does a personal injury attorney charge?
Fortunately, you have the right to hire a Florida personal injury lawyer who can answer all of your individual questions. This article will help you to get started; we'll discuss:
- The kinds of cases that Florida personal injury lawyers handle.
- What you need to prove in a personal injury case.
- Why you should call a lawyer immediately.
- How to find a Florida personal injury attorney.
Would a Florida Personal Injury Attorney Handle My Case?
Florida personal injury lawyers represent seriously injured people, so long as they were injured in the state of Florida.
- Motor Vehicle Accidents. Motorcycle, truck, car, cruise ship, construction zone, ATV, RV, boat, ferry, amusement park, mass accidents, bicycle, golf cart, and pedestrian accidents.
- Defective Products. Defective power tools, appliances, equipment, hair dryers, medications, vacuum cleaners, machines, saws, tools, cars, kitchen tools, and chemicals.
- Medical Malpractice. Birth injuries, wrongful death, adverse medication reactions, inappropriate surgery, mistakes in surgery, etc.
- Injuries. Wrongful death, dog bites, birth injuries, brain injuries, adverse drug reactions, food-borne illnesses, lacerations, scars, fractures, bruises, broken bones, nursing home abuse injuries, burns, Mesothelioma (i.e. cancer), and slip and falls injuries.
If you were injured on the job, you may be covered by Worker's Compensation insurance. But you may be entitled to additional funds or need help getting your rightful benefits.
How Do I Prove My Florida Personal Injury Case?
Usually, to win your case, you must prove negligence. Negligence is the most commonly cited theory of liability.
Here are the steps in proving negligence:
- First, you need to show that the defendant had a duty to you and failed to act as a reasonable prudent person in that particular situation would act.
- Second, you need to show the defendant's unreasonable actions or inactions caused your injury.
- Third, you need to show that you suffered legal damages because of those injuries.
Why Should I Call a Personal Injury Lawyer Immediately?
- As soon as you make the call to a personal injury attorney, you'll have a law firm and investigators on your side to collect evidence and give you advice.
- Evidence is better preserved as close to the time of the accident as possible.
- Insurance companies will call you. Don't talk to them until you consult with an attorney.
All cases have a time limit.
Here are some example Florida statute of limitations for personal injury cases:
- Medical Malpractice is 2or 4 years, depending on when the injured person discovers the injury (Fla. Stat. В§ 95.11(4)(a) and (b)).
- Personal Injury is 4 years (Fla. Stat. В§ 95.11(3)(a) and (o)).
- Wrongful Death is 2 years (Fla. Stat. В§ 95.11(4)(d)).
- Property Damage is 4 years (Fla. Stat. В§ 95.11(3)(h)).
How Do I Find a Florida Personal Injury Attorney?
To find a Florida personal injury lawyer, search our site, www.attorneys.org, or ask the bar association or a loved one for a referral.
Local Personal Injury Attorneys
- Altamonte Springs
- Amelia Island
- Bay Harbor Islands
- Boca Raton
- Bonita Springs
- Boynton Beach
- Cape Coral
- Coconut Grove
- Cooper City
- Coral Gables
- Coral Springs
- Crystal River
- Dade City
- Daytona Beach
- De Funiak Springs
- Deerfield Beach
- Delray Beach
- Fernandina Beach