Personal Injury Law in Connecticut
Wondering what your personal injury case is worth? You're not alone - everyone who has been injured in an accident wonders the same thing. Every PI case is unique and must be evaluated by a Connecticut personal injury attorney. It would be unethical and impossible to provide a case value without individual analysis.
Fortunately, you can contact the PI law firm of your choice (24/7) and the case evaluation is free.
If you or a loved one has been injured in the state of Connecticut, this article is meant for you. We'll discuss:
- The kinds of cases that Connecticut personal injury lawyers handle.
- What you need to prove in a personal injury case.
- Why you should call a lawyer immediately.
- How to find a Connecticut personal injury attorney.
Would a Connecticut Personal Injury Attorney Handle My Case?
If you were seriously injured in Connecticut, a Connecticut attorney would likely handle your type of case. You need to ask the attorney if his or her firm will take your specific case.
Here's an example list; however, if you don't see your type of accident or injury, that doesn't mean that you can't get help. This is just a listing of the most common accidents and injuries.
- Motor Vehicles. Example motor vehicle cases include truck, car, motorcycle, scooter, pedestrian, bicycle, golf cart, RV, ATV, boat, cruise line, and amusement park ride accidents.
- Defective Products. Sometimes defective products cause injuries. Chemicals, equipment, medical devices, medical equipment, cars, motor vehicles, hair dryers, engine, power tools, medicines, vacuum cleaners, machines, appliances, kitchen tools, etc. have all been found to be defective at times.
- Common Injuries. Example injuries include brain injuries, birth injuries, delayed diagnosis, misdiagnosis, surgical errors, treatment errors, prescription drug errors, death, dog bites, adverse drug reactions, burns, scars, lacerations, bruises, broken bones, nursing home abuse injuries, slip and falls injuries, food-borne illnesses, medical malpractice injuries, and Mesothelioma (i.e. cancer).
How Do I Prove My Connecticut Personal Injury Case?
There are other theories of liability, but in Connecticut, negligence is the most common. Thus, you must prove that the defendant was negligent, more likely than not.
- First, you need to show that the defendant failed to fulfill a duty owed to you.
- Second, you need to show failing to fulfill that duty to you caused you harm.
- Third, you need to show that you suffered legal damages such as medical bills, lost wages, lost benefits, pain and suffering, and for family members, loss of consortium.
Why Should I Call a Personal Injury Lawyer Immediately?
- There is no upfront fee for immediate service.
- You'll have an attorney on your side.
- You'll receive advice immediately so you don't take a misstep.
- The insurance company won't be able to trick you.
You'll meet the statute of limitations.
Here are some example Connecticut statute of limitations for personal injury cases:
- Medical Malpractice is 2 to 3 years, depending on when the injury is discovered (Conn. Gen. Stat. В§ 52-584).
- Personal Injury is 2 to 3 years, depending on when the injury is discovered (Conn. Gen. Stat. В§ 52-584).
- Wrongful Death is 2 years (Conn. Gen. Stat. В§ 52-555).
- Property Damage is 2 to 3 years, depending on when the injury is discovered (Conn. Gen. Stat. В§ 52-584).
How Do I Find a Connecticut Personal Injury Attorney?
To find a Connecticut personal injury lawyer, search our site, www.attorneys.org, or ask the bar association or a loved one for a referral. It's okay to contact a personal injury lawyer 24/7/365.
Local Personal Injury Attorneys
- East Hartford
- East Haven
- New Britain
- New Canaan
- New Haven
- New London
- New Milford
- North Haven