DUI & DWI in Connecticut
What's going to happen now that you or a loved one has been arrested for DUI on Connecticut roadways? If this is something you're thinking, this article, "How to Find a Connecticut DUI Attorney" is for you.
Here's a rundown of what we'll cover:
- Connecticut OUI Laws
- Connecticut OUI Punishments
- Potential OUI Defenses
- Connecticut's Other Drunk Driving and Alcohol Laws
- How to Find a Connecticut OUI Attorney
When is a Driver Considered to be Legally Drunk in Connecticut?
You are legally too drunk to drive in the state of Connecticut if you're a:
- Regular driver and your BAC is .08 or higher.
- Commercial driver and your BAC is .04 or higher.
- Under 21 driver and your BAC is .02 or higher.
What is Connecticut's Punishment for DUI Convictions?
These are the "normal" OUI (operating under the influence) penalties:
- 1st Offense - up to 6 months jail time - fines of $500 to $1,000 - driver's license suspension for 45 days - ignition interlock - community service - probation.
- 2nd Offense within 10 years - jail time up to 2 years - fines of $1,000 to $4,000 - driver's license suspension for up to 3 years - ignition interlock- community service - probation.
- 3rd Offense within 10 years - jail time up to3years- fines of $2,000 to $8,000- driver's license permanently revoked - community service - probation.
Connecticut Drunk Driving Defenses
Police, medical personnel, and judges must all follow the laws when dealing with your OUI case. Your OUI defense attorney will make sure you are treated properly and your rights are protected.
One of your rights is the right to hire be represented by an attorney. Here are potential drunk driving defenses:
- Information that should have been admitted into evidence wasn't admitted.
- Inappropriate information was admitted into evidence.
- The judge gave the jury the wrong instructions.
- The roadblock or initial stop was not proper.
- There was a BAC testing or reporting error.
Connecticut's Other Drunk Driving and Alcohol Laws
Connecticut's Dram Shop Statute
If a licensed drinking establishment serves alcohol to a visibly drunk person, that establishment is liable for resulting injuries to third parties.
- A server at a licensed drinking establishment who sells alcohol to a minor, an intoxicated person, or any habitual drunkard is breaking the law - and - may be penalized with up to one year in prison and a fine of up to $1,000.
- An individual who sells liquor to an underage person is subject to jail time of up to 18 months and a fine of up to $1,500.
How to Find a Connecticut DUI Attorney
To find a Connecticut DUI attorney, search our website, www.attorneys.org, or ask friends or the bar association for a referral.
Local DUI Attorneys
- East Hartford
- New Britain
- New Haven
- New London
- New Milford
- South Windsor