DUI & DWI in Arizona
This drunk driving statistic is shocking. On average, a first time DUI offender has already driven drunk 87 times before being arrested.*
If the numbers have caught up with you and either you or your loved one has been arrested for drunk driving, this article will help. We'll quickly nutshell:
- Arizona DUI Laws
- Arizona DUI Punishments
- Potential DUI Defenses
- Arizona's Other Drunk Driving and Alcohol Laws
- How to Find an Arizona DUI Attorney
*Because drunk driving consequences are so very serious, it's likely in your best interests to consult with a qualified Arizona DUI attorney who can provide legal advice regarding your individual situation.
When is a Driver Considered to be Legally Drunk in Arizona?AZ DUI Laws are found in the ArizonaRevised Statutes.
- Non-commercial drivers are driving drunk if their BAC is .08 or higher.
- Commercial drivers are driving drunk if their BAC is .04 or higher.
Under age 21drivers are legally drunk if there is any alcohol in their systems.
- "Underage drinking and driving" (one charge) = some BAC but less than .08
- "Underage drinking and DUI" (two charges) = .08 BAC or higher
What is Arizona's Punishment for DUI Convictions?
- 1st Conviction: minimum 10 days in jail - pay at least $250 in fines - pay $1,000 for prison fund - driver's license suspension for at least 90 days - EMS costs.
- 2nd Conviction within 60 months: minimum 90 days in jail - pay at least $500 in fines - pay $5,000 for prison fund - driver's license suspension for 1 year - ignition interlock - EMS costs.
- 3rd Conviction within 60 months: 2.5 years in jail - pay at least $750 in fines - pay $1,750 for prison fund - driver's license suspension for 3 years - ignition interlock - EMS costs.
An individual convicted of drunk driving receives more sever penalties:
- If the BAC was .15 and higher
- If driving drunk with a child, under the age of 15
Arizona Drunk Driving Defenses
A DUI attorney will analyze your case, collect evidence, and determine your strongest defenses. You can choose an AZ DUI defense lawyer at www.attorneys.org.
DUI defenses included:
- Original traffic stop was tainted.
- No probable cause for original traffic stop.
- Improperly executed roadblock.
- Blood or BAC testing was faulty.
The officer didn't explain the consequences of:
- Failing a Breathalyzer.
- Not taking the Breathalyzer.
The trial court judge made an error.
- Improper admission of evidence.
- Improper jury instructions.
- Your BAC wasn't .08 or higher while you were driving.
Arizona's Other Drunk Driving and Alcohol Laws
Arizona's Dram Shop Act
Civil liability attaches if a licensed drinking establishments serves a visibly drunk person or knowingly serves a minor and injury results.
Arizona's Providing Alcohol to Underage Persons Law
In Arizona, it's illegal to furnish alcohol for underage persons. You can go to jail for up to 6 months and be fined up to $2,500.
How to Find an Arizona DUI Attorney
To find an Arizona DUI lawyer, you can search our website, www.attorneys.org, or ask friends or the bar association for a referral.