DUI & DWI in Alaska
Everyone fears jail and no one wants to pay a hefty find. If you lose your driver's license, how will you get to work? How will you support your family? If these thoughts are racing through your mind, you need an Alaska DUI attorney and this article.
- Alaska DUI DWI Laws
- Alaska DUI Punishments
- Potential DUI Defenses
- Alaska's Other Drunk Driving and Alcohol Laws
- How to Find a Alaska DWI Defense Lawyer
When is a Driver Considered to be Legally Drunk in Alaska?
Alaska drunk driving laws are found in Alaska Statutes. The Alaska courts put out a helpful publication describing DUI in Alaska.
Alaska law enforcement officers will arrest drivers who are either visibly impaired (driving unsafely) or who are driving with a BAC (blood alcohol content) above allowable limits.
- Under age 21 drivers will be arrested for drunk driving if they are driving with any alcohol in their blood or on their breath.
- Commercial drivers and school bus drivers will be arrested for DUI if they have .04 BAC or higher.
- All other drivers will be arrested for DUI if they have a .08 BAC or higher.
What is Alaska's Punishment for DUI Convictions?
- 1st DUI Conviction: At least 72 hours in jail - fines of at least $1,500- loss of commercial license -driver's license suspension for at least 90 days - ignition interlock.
- 2nd DUI Conviction within 15 Years: At least 20 days in jail - fines of at least $3,000 - loss of commercial license - driver's license suspension for at least 1 year - ignition interlock.
- 3rd DUI Conviction within 15 Years: At least 60 days in jail - fines of at least $4,000 - loss of commercial license - driver's license suspension for at least 3 years - ignition interlock. (Punishment is severely increased if the 3rd DWI conviction is within 10 years of the 1st conviction.)
Alaska Drunk Driving Defenses
The Alaska DUI DWI attorney you choose to hire will skillfully analyze your case to spot mistakes and broken protocols and to ensure that all the elements of drunk driving are present.
Any red flags will be used to defend you. In addition, anything you did and have done right in the past will be used to get the criminal charges reduced and to minimize any punishments.
Alaska's Other Drunk Driving and Alcohol Laws
Alaska's Dram Shop Law
Civil liability attaches to any drinking establishment that knowingly served an underage person or a visibly intoxicated person.
In addition, any individual who furnishes alcohol to underage persons can be held liable for resulting injuries.
Alaska's Providing Alcohol to Underage Persons Law
In Alaska, it's a crime for either a licensed drinking establishment or an individual to furnish alcohol to underage persons. Criminal punishments include fines and jail time - if the intoxicated minor seriously injures or kills someone, fines are up to $50,000 and potential jail time is 5 years.
How to Find an Alaska DUI Attorney
To find an Alaska DUI lawyer, search our website, www.attorneys.org, or ask friends or the bar association for a referral. Just making the call may put many of your fears to rest so you can focus on your defense and create a strong future.