DUI & DWI in Alabama
Because drunk driving consequences are incredibly serious, it's likely in your best interests to consult with a qualified Alabama DUI attorney who can provide legal advice and spot potential defenses for your individual situation.
- Alabama DUI Laws
- Alabama DUI Punishments
- Potential DUI Defenses
- Alabama's Other Drunk Driving and Alcohol Laws
- How to Find an Alabama DUI Attorney
When is a Driver Considered to be Legally Drunk in Alabama?ALDUI Laws are found in The Code of Alabama 1975.
Here's the Code's blood alcohol content (BAC) summary:
- Non-commercial drivers are driving drunk if their BAC is .08 or higher.
- Commercial driver are driving drunk if their BAC is .04 or higher.
- Under age 21drivers are legally drunk with a BAC of .02.
- School bus and day care drivers are legally drunk with a BAC of .02.
What is Alabama's Punishment for DUI Convictions?
- 1st Conviction: up to 1 year in jail - fine of $600 to $2,100 - driver's license suspension for 90 days - DUI or substance abuse program.
- 2nd Conviction within 5 years: up to 1 year in jail(may be hard labor) - pay fines of $1,100 to $5,100 - driver's license suspension for 1 year.
- 3rdConviction within 5 years: up to 1 year in jail (may be hard labor) - pay fines of $2,200 to $10,100 - driver's license suspension for 3 years.
Alabama Drunk Driving Defenses
A DUI attorney will analyze your case, collect evidence, and determine your strongest defenses. You can choose an AL DUI defense lawyer at www.attorneys.org.
DUI defenses included:
- Original traffic stop was tainted - no probable cause or improperly executed roadblock.
- Blood or BAC testing was faulty.
The trial court judge made an error.
- Improper admission of evidence.
- Improper jury instructions.
- Your BAC wasn't .08 or higher while you were driving.
Alabama's Other Drunk Driving and Alcohol Laws
Alabama's Dram Shop Act
Civil liability attaches if a licensed drinking establishments serves a visibly drunk person and injuries result.
Alabama's Providing Alcohol to Underage Persons Law
In Alabama, it's illegal to allow a house party with underage drinkers; you can go to jail for 6 months (hard labor) and be fined $100 to $1,000. Successive convictions yield stronger penalties.
Alabama's Selling Alcohol to Minors Act
In Alabama, it's illegal for a licensed drinking establishment to serve underage drinkers; you can go to jail for 6 months (hard labor) and be fined $100 to $1,000. Successive convictions yield stronger penalties.
How to Find an Alabama DUI Attorney
To find an Alabama DUI lawyer to help you, you can search our website, www.attorneys.org, or ask friends or the bar association for a referral.